Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Ancestry dna 2022/8/9 21:56
I was adopted and searching for my ancestry. I am part Japanese and am interested in learning more about my Japanese roots. I've done some common American DNA tests, but I have NO genetic matches from that side of the family. Is it common for people in Japan to use DNA testing? Is there a certain brand I should use? Any other suggestions?
by Adoptedandwondering (guest)  

Re: Ancestry dna 2022/8/10 07:59
I frankly think that all this ancestry DNA testing is a very US American thing. Not widely used anywhere else.
by LikeBike rate this post as useful

Re: Ancestry dna 2022/8/10 15:15
That type of ancestry DNA testing is indeed available in Japan, but I doubt it's commonly used.

In fact, the last time I studied about it, the one (or was it "ones") that was available here only told you whether you're from either of the two ancestries they provide information of. And if you belonged to neither, your result turned out as something like "not found".

In short, it only told you "what kind of a Japanese race you are" and not much about immigrant possibilities. I thought they charged you a very high price for something that turned out to be "just for fun", and I'm not really convinced about the accuracy.

Quick Googling tells me that the tests have been improved, but I'm not sure if many people would be interested, especially because most people in Japan know at least what "continent" their great-grandparents came from, and that's enough for them.

On the other hand, I do love digging into ancestry websites such as ancestry.com or FamilySearch.org. They provide you more specific info such as embarkation lists, which indeed helped me a lot. Why not try studying documents instead of DNA? It would be fun, and for free.
by Uco rate this post as useful