Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

University in Japan Without Year 12 2022/12/26 12:53
Long story short, I would like to study at university in Japan, but don't have a Year 12 certificate. I am 23 (24 in late 2023). I started university late due to personal reasons.

I didn't go to school past finishing year 10 in Australia, but have since completed 2x Certificate III's (roughly equivalent to year 12 - one in Hospitality, and one in IT) and also passed an exam allowing me to study at university. I have currently completed 4x units across 2x semesters (basically 1/2 of the first year) and my GPA is 6.0 on a 7.0 scale (basically a Distinction). I am studying Business, majoring in Economics and a minor in Business Analysis. My university only allows me to spend 1 semester studying abroad, and I would like to do more than that.

My circumstances have recently changed and I'm about to come across approximately $100k AUD (sale of my property), with the ability to sell most of my stuff and travel. I would ideally like to use that to study my degree overseas, and I've decided on Japan for several factors. I have already passed JLPT N5 and am continuing my self-study. I would ideally enter on a working holiday visa to start with, whilst studying at a language school (legal, from what I understand) to bring it up to N2 level. Once done, I would then like to enter Japanese University and I will be 24, almost 25 at that time.

My questions is basically summed up below:

Would I be able to enter a Japanese University (either taught in Japanese or English) like this, or would I have to go back and try and get my Year-12 certificate (will take a year or so). I can't find a lot of info online about this, so figured this as best a place as any.

Thanks for any help you can give me.
by ukel