Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Tax situation as a visiting researcher 2023/1/23 13:57
Hi!
I have a question regarding my tax situation and I'd appreciate any help. I am a postdoc researcher (my status at my host institute is "Visiting Researcher", so I am not employed here) and I was awarded a fellowship with a monthly payment from an EU country research institution to conduct my research in Japan for 2 years. In that way, it is very much like the JSPS postdoc fellowship. As far as I know, fellowships/scholarships are tax-exempt (at least the JSPS is) but I want to be absolutely certain about it. I already tried contacting the NTA's English consultation hotline but they surprisingly barely spoke English... I have no idea who could give me a reliable answer, so I figured I'd just post it here.
Also, in the case that I don't have to pay income tax, would that also mean that I don't have to pay residence tax?
Thanks in advance.
by nrmn  

Re: Tax situation as a visiting researcher 2023/1/23 18:22
if you mean 特別研究員 in 日本学術振興会, it is taxable, treated as salary. (you need to pay both of income tax and resident tax.)
https://www.jsps.go.jp/j-pd/data/tei_yoshiki/h30/10C.pdf
by ken (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Tax situation as a visiting researcher 2023/1/23 18:51
Thanks for your reply. I think the fellowship you are referring to is for Japanese nationals and also requires employment at a research institute. There is a JSPS Postdoc Fellowship for foreigners that is tax-emept. It states in the guidelines: "The fellowship does not constitute employment nor is the allowance considered to be pay or remuneration. Therefore, your allowance under the fellowship is not subject to taxation. The National Tax Agency recognizes this tax-exempt status. "