Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Working remotely for a foreign company 2023/2/21 20:49
Hello all,

last year I moved to Japan on a spouse visa and have just now started working for my former company from Europe again - the company agreed that I can work remotely from Japan.

Now I know since I am a Japanese resident (non-permament for now) I have to pay income tax in Japan and not in Europe. I will therefore receive my income from the European company without any tax and social security deductions. In March 2024 I would file this income for 2023 in the tax form (converted from Euro to Yen per the exchange rate from the day that I received the payment) - and then pay the resulting income and residence tax.

Regarding the Japanese Pension Scheme: I already pay for that since I moved here. It is a "flat" rate of about 16000 yen per month - I don't think I have to change anything here regarding my "new" job.

Regarding the Japanese Health Insurance: This I also pay since moving to Japan (a rather low rate since neither me nor my wife had work since we moved to Japan last year). Once I paid income tax in 2024 for 2023 I understand that the amount I have to pay automatically changes (rises) in relation to the income that I stated in the tax form.

Is that the right course of action or have I missed something important? Can I for now just work and receive the salary without any deductions since I don't have to do anything before the tax filing next year? Thanks a lot in advance for any answers - I would appreciate it a lot!

Best regards
Matt
by Matt (guest)  

Re: Working remotely for a foreign company 2023/2/22 08:34
I have to pay income tax in Japan and not in Europe
Check that. You may still be liable for tax in your home country and deemed to be tax resident there. Japan does have double taxation agreements with many countries, but not all.