Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

teacher salary and child 2023/5/17 22:29
Hello,

Do you think an english teacher's salary is enough to support a child? I'm a teacher an I'm thinking of adopting a child. Please let me know your opinions.
by naynay (guest)  

Re: teacher salary and child 2023/5/18 10:34
It honestly depends where you teach and what you teach as well. Generally speaking, most companies offer a base salary of 250,000 yen per month for English teachers. If you work in an area that is more demanding or the work is also more demanding, a company may pay you between 250,000 and 300,000

It's up to you if you adopt a child and I would look into the costs of that and if the government allows any kind of payment for adopting a child.
by Tom (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: teacher salary and child 2023/5/18 11:26
From the way your question is asked, i am assuming that you are not yet a teacher in Japan, but you are a teacher in your home country currently and considering to come over as an English teacher with an adopted child?

That complicates your life quite a bit, in the sense (depending on the childfs age) of having to look for a child care, after-school child care, etc., and then the childfs education herec i would suggest you to consider longer term for both yourself and your child-to-be. Best wishes.
by AK rate this post as useful

Re: teacher salary and child 2023/5/18 18:17
This question has a lot of things which makes it difficult to answer.

How much are you getting paid?
Which city are you living in?
How far away is the childs school from your work?
What type of teacher are you?
What time is your job hours?
What support network do you have? (eg - do you have family in Japan to help you)
Do you have other expenses?
Is the child Japanese or other?
What type of school will the student attend?