Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Remote Work for UK Company on Temp visa 2023/9/12 06:14
I am a British citizen and resident, planning to visit Japan for a 90-day stay while continuing to work remotely for my UK-based company.

My current employer is fully supportive of this arrangement, and all of my earnings will be transferred from one UK bank account to another. I won't be receiving any income from Japan.

I've tried searching online, but most of the information I found seems outdated. Can anyone provide up-to-date information or guidance on whether this is possible in 2023 and if there are any specific requirements or restrictions to be aware of? Your insights would be greatly appreciated!
by Cinziachi  

Re: Remote Work for UK Company on Temp visa 2023/9/12 09:25
Lots of people have done it. You ain't being paid in yen in Japan. So no one will know. Just don't go telling anyone at the airport what you are doing. Something will get lost in translation, and mayhem could arrive.
by H (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Remote Work for UK Company on Temp visa 2023/9/13 01:00
Technically, this is illegal. You cannot work on a tourist visa, and any work done in Japan (even remotely) counts. There is no provision for remote work on a tourist visa.
by / (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Remote Work for UK Company on Temp visa 2023/9/14 03:49
IMHO it is not nice, that almost in any country the local laws do not specify accurately that, what process or human behaviour is working and what is not. I.e is reading e-mails or making phone calls working or not.