Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

New Tax invoice (JCT) Oct 2023 2023/10/2 10:06
Hello everyone,
I am a full time engineer in japanese company. I was thinking of side husstle by doing engineering drawing jobs. My current annual gross income from main job is below 4,000,000. And company deducts tax for this income.
Do i have to file a additional tax as long as my total gross income(main job + side husstle) is below 10,000,000. I am unknown about tax system of japan please give me suggestion.

by Max (guest)  

Re: New Tax invoice (JCT) Oct 2023 2023/10/2 20:55
As far as I know, it looks like a few things are mixed up here.

This 10 million yen per year applies to gbusiness revenuesh, referring mainly to independent business owners, independent service providers, and freelance workers, and if you are a full-time salaried worker, this threshold does not apply to you.

In case of salaried worker (with the employer doing the taxes on your behalf), if your gotherh income exceeds 200,000 yen in a year, you need to do your own tax filing, combining your salary income and your other income.

If you start some work on the side, and gother clientsh of yours want you to sign up for the ginvoiceh system, so that you register as a gregistered businessh paying consumption taxes and your clients can deduct the portion you pay, you might have to, but that means youfd need to sign up as an individual business and this can complicate things a bit.

But in the first place, youfd need to check with your current employer if it is ok to take up a side job.
by AK rate this post as useful

Re: New Tax invoice (JCT) Oct 2023 2023/10/2 21:12
I should have been a bit more precise in my writing:
- Once your income other than salary exceeds 200,000 yen in a year, you need to do the gincome taxh filing.
- The ginvoiceh system applies to independent business owners/freelance workers and the gconsumption taxh obligations.