Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Weather on late November to early December 2023/10/22 19:21
Hi!
I'm planning to go to Osaka, Kyoto, Kanazawa, Shirakawa-go, Tokyo and Yamanashi from 27 Dec until 9 Dec.

From what I know, the autumn forecast map shows that the momoji leaves will peak at Tokyo around December 1st, Osaka around December 4th, Kyoto around December 12th. I assume for Kanazawa and other areas will be earlier than that.

But I'm wondering what the weather will be like around those areas which I mention above. Since this is my first time visiting Japan, how cold will it be at daytime and nighttime? Is layering clothes and coat enough to cover the cold?

thanks!
by Natasha (guest)  

Re: Weather on late November to early December 2023/10/23 09:00
Hi. This is an unusual year. Usually it is quite cold by end November around Kyoto, especially once the wind comes along. But apparently it is going to be warm well into November (unfortunately, as we are over from the 13th) which will delay momoji by maybe 3 weeks or so. It is also making it hard to know what to pack.

Usually by early December, you will want a heavy-ish jacket - something you could wear if the temps were single digit. But in my view layering in Japan is a nightmare because everything inside buildings or in transport is like 25 celsius plus, so you have to peel off multiple layers.

So what we do is have one really good jacket - like something you can wear in the snow - and wear it over tee shirts. If it is cool, leave it unzipped, if it is cold, zip it up. I went in Feb this year doing that and took a jumper as well but it didnt get worn at all.
by Lazy Pious (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Weather on late November to early December 2023/10/23 10:25
I'm not sure what the other poster meant as if they know definitively that it's going to be "warmer" in November, considering it's already getting quite cool as of now.