Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

How to Stay in Japan? 2024/1/16 21:57
I'm in a bit of a unique situation. I am US military stationed in Tokyo. I have lived here since 2022 and my assignment here is until 2025. My problem is that I love Japan and I do not want to go back to the US. I feel like three years in Japan is not enough for me and I want to stay here longer (although I don't know for how long). Thus, I am trying to figure out the best way for me to stay in Japan. The current setup I have is perfect: I work as a US pharmacist and make a US pharmacist salary, I live in a standalone house in Tokyo (huge by Japan standards) near the Chuo and Ome Line which makes it easy to travel anywhere, I get 30 days of leave/PTO per year plus all Federal holidays off plus extra days off as rewards for various things, I get to practice pharmacy while also doing fun/cool/adventurous military things, and to top it all off I get to do all that while serving a purpose greater than myself that I believe in (mostly). Unfortunately, with the way the military works it cannot last forever. So the main hurdle I need to figure out is what kind of job I should get, how to get it, and how to best steer my career. Since I am a pharmacist by trade, a job in which I can use that skillset so it doesn't deteriorate while maintaining a high-ish salary would be ideal (>$60-80k annually, which is even low for a pharmacist but that's enough for me to care about earning). I am not totally committed to the pharmacy career field (while I am grateful to have such a lucrative and secure job I find it boring and unfulfilling), but it might be the only way for me to maintain my current salary, and if I get a non-pharmacy related job it might be difficult for me to go back later. Some options I've thought of so far: