Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 1 of 2: Posts 1 - 20 of 23

1 2
next

Japanese makeup tips 2006/4/16 23:21
I'd like to learn how to put on makeup the way the girls in Japan do. When I visited Japan back in September, I noticed that a lot of girls used peachy pink colors, which looked really nice with their skin tone. I have very little experience with makeup, so could someone please tell me how to get that cute Japanese look?

By the way, I am Asian too, so my coloring would be very similar to the girls in Japan.
by Brittany  

Make-up tips for Asians 2006/4/18 08:41
This is a big question!

First, it all depends on what your underlying skin tone is! My father used to be an executive with a make-up firm that is very big internationally. He was raised in Japan and mainland China. He used to tell me that the main difference between the Asian philosophy of beauty and make-up and Western philosophy lies with the preparation. For instance, compare Japanese and American based cosmetic firms. American and some European companies like to hide and emphasize features with make-up. The Japanese firms spend more effort in skin maintenance products and skin enhancement products. The Japanese really appreciate the sexiness of just beautiful flawless white skin.

Creating that flawless, white or "peachy" base is difficult in some Asians that have dark or sallow, yellow complexions, so they use a base that is light-green in color under the proper shade of foundation that is designed for their skin tone and texture : oily, normal or dry.. If you like your skin tone, you can skip the greenish base, but find a good foundation that matches the color of your neck, to give you a great all-over color without looking phony.