Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Homestay preparation 2006/10/25 05:38
Hello. I'm a third year university student planning to do a homestay in Tokyo of next year. I'm doing the best I can to be open-minded and culturally sensitive before I go, and not to rely on one set of rules, since every family is completely different. My Japanese professor sent a link to this site: (http://athome.nime.ac.jp) which is extremely helpful in sorting out a lot of the difficult questions a homestay student may ask. I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone even thinking about homestay.

I guess my question is, what should I do if I have a question that I do not know how to ask indirectly to my host family? I realize direct communication is not necessarily viewed as favorable or polite, but I'm an American, so direct communication is what I'm used to. If I miss cues, how can I apologize or avoid further conflict in the family? Any advice from people who have HOSTED would also be extremely appreciated. Thank you in advance.
by unrelatedwaffle  

indirect questions 2006/10/26 09:41
I have stayed in Japan and hosted Visitors from Japan.. The people concerned have been well travelled and pretty well westerenised. I did run into a few issues with the "stall" instead of a "no" answer.

If I couldnt get a direct answer , I learned to assume it was a "no". Responses like .. It might be difficult, it is possible, became my clues.. I dont know If I was right but I ever had only one "issue".
Perhaps phrase the question " do you think Is it possible for a person to .." leaves more wriggling room for an indirect 'no'.

J
by john rate this post as useful

good website! 2006/10/27 00:30
That website is great! Thanks for posting the link. :)
by matt rate this post as useful

homestay 2006/10/29 23:51