Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Homestay questions 2007/2/28 10:28
Hi. I'm studying abroad in Japan this coming semester (I leave in three weeks!), and if all goes well, I'll be doing a homestay with a Japanese family. However, I hear it's the little things about a different culture that are the most annoying (aren't they always?), and I have a few rather random questions about etiquette when living with an unfamiliar family in a strange land. Excuse me if I'm blunt, but these are important questions!

1. Where should I shave my legs?
2. How long should I stay in the bath?
3. How do I tell my host mother tactfully that it's "that time of the month," so I won't be soaking in the bath?
4. Should I bring in clothes in the bathroom to wear after bathing, or is it acceptable to wear a robe?
5. Is it rude to use a hair dryer?
6. How should I say "what should I call you?" to my host parents politely? (i.e. "Okaa-san" or "Naninani-san) And when should I bring it up?
7. Any warnings of common blunders Americans make during a homestay? (I hear stories all the time, but I always want to learn more don'ts!)
by Momo  

... 2007/3/3 12:45
2. How long should I stay in the bath?

It is up to you. It may also depend on the temperature of the bath. In our household, the average time is about 20-60 minutes per person for the whole bathing process.

3. How do I tell my host mother tactfully that it's "that time of the month," so I won't be soaking in the bath?

There is no need to tell her.

Should I bring in clothes in the bathroom to wear after bathing, or is it acceptable to wear a robe?

Ask your host family.

No! Hair dryers are in common use in Japan, as well. Just use it in the appropriate room. If in doubt, ask your family.
by Uji rate this post as useful

Have a nice homestay. 2007/3/3 15:29