Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 1 of 2: Posts 1 - 20 of 22

1 2
next

English/Japanese electronic dictionary? 2007/3/7 20:55
Hi
I want to buy my first English/Japanese electronic dictionary when I go to Akihabara next month, but I'm very confused about which one to buy! I want one with a 'jump' function, and I like the idea of having a stylus too, if possible. I want one that will last me a while, so not one for complete beginners. I want to be able to use romaji, hiragana, katakana and kanji, if possible. Please can anyone offer suggestions??
Thanks!
by Haiku_Girl  

Re: English/Japanese dictionary? 2007/3/8 22:43
I have a Canon Wordtank G50 and the Kanji Sonomama Rakubiki Jiten "game" on my Nintendo DS. I like the one on my DS more and more, especially since it allows me to jump better than the Canon Wordtank. A drawback (or really an advantage) is that you need to draw the kanji and kana yourself on the touchscreen of the DS with the stylus and the recognition method used is built on stroke order.

The Canon Wordtank G50 has been replaced by the Canon Wordtank G55/G70/V80/etc.

The page below has a comparison:
http://www.joystiq.com/2006/04/13/ds-gets-wordplay-japanese-english-dictionary/

This page gives the prices of the different Wordtanks for sale in the US; always good to know when you go shopping in Akiba as not everything is guaranteed cheaper there: http://store.aikotradingstore.com/canonwordtank.html
by Kappa rate this post as useful

Europe?? 2007/3/9 00:37
Looks like something I would like to have as well!! anyone knows where i can find the DS version in Europe? I live in the Netherlands.Thanks in advance!
by Hiya rate this post as useful

YesAsia.com 2007/3/9 00:59