Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Life for foreign exchange students 2003/12/3 05:17
Just wondering how foreign exchange students are treated by the general Japanese population. Is it easy to make friends and have a good time? Is it more difficult b/c of the language barrier? etc.....
by Zefiris  

It's tough, but worth it. 2004/4/24 15:41
It somewhat depends on where you are in Japan. The rural areas, I've heard, have different attitudes than those living in big cities. It also sort of depends on the school you go to.

I was an Exchange Student in Tokyo for a year. The students at my school were very friendly. If I had been less afraid to talk with them, I could have made alot more friends than I did, but I still had a great time. The language barrier was a problem too.

If you're from America, you'll be like a mini-celebraty at your school for the first few weeks. It's kind of annoying, but you can use it to your advantgage to make friends.

I think the thing that determines the quality of your stay the most is your host-family. If your host family is good, you'll have a good time. If they are bad, it could get ugly. Don't be afraid to ask for a switch if you can't handle it anymore, though. I had to switch five months into the program, and the differnce was amazing. My second host family was great, and the last six months with them were the best of my life.
by Seth Bicknell rate this post as useful

I am looking into en Exchange program 2005/12/4 02:10
I am applying for an exchange program with CIEE. If I make it I will be in the suburbs of Tokyo for 10 months. Any advice for me?
I will be in a high school somewhere in the area, but I am graduating this year from my high school. Will that make it awkward?
I am also 6'1, will I be able to find clothes? Will they be expensive?