Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Can you use a visa bucks card in japan? 2007/6/8 02:35
Hi, I'm a 17 y/o American student and I'll be spending 2 weeks in japan this summer. The leader of my trip suggested that we all have some money in Japanese currency, some in American, and some on a card. My problem is that on the Visa website it says nothing about using a buxx card overseas.And I'm not sure I'm old enough for their travel credit card. Any information would be helpful please.

Thanks!
by Sara J.  

. 2007/6/8 12:56
The Visa Buxx card should work just like any other Visa debit card, I did a quick search on the net and read people have had success using it in Japan, again I don't see why not, as it should be processed like any other visa card.
by John rate this post as useful

. 2007/6/8 15:01
However, with that you should keep some cash, it should be Japanese currency, as shops probably would not accept any other sort of currency outside of the major airport. You can do currency exchange once you arrive at the airport.

. 2007/6/8 15:39
I doubt it. When I stayed overseas, my Visa didn't work ANYWHERE, except in International atms (which were incredibly hard to find). Now, I'm reffering to the bank card. A credit card is another thing. However, my credit card also happened to be a Visa but I never asked to use it in stores. But I heard many places don't take it, so if you're not heading to an area with huge shops and franchises you may be unlucky. If anything, they may be the only ones who accept something like that.

I recommend Yen all the way. Just keep it safe and separated; carry the amount you plan to spend that day with you, and the rest in the place you're staying.
by niko-chan (nicole) rate this post as useful

oh 2007/6/8 15:42