Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Summary: Two weeks in Japan 2007/8/12 23:41
Hello everyone,

I have been a fan of japan-guide.com for several years now. I used the site to research trip details for my recent two-week trip to Japan and I would like to express my gratitude. Thank you.

I have been studying the Japanese language and culture for just over two years. My primary goal for the trip was to decide whether or not I truly desire to live and work in Japan. Other goals included using my skill with the Japanese language and visiting some historic sites. I spent over a week in Tokyo, two days in Kyoto, several days in Osaka and
one night at a ryokan in Yugawara. The Omatsuri in both Yugawara and Osaka were fantastic and most definitely the highlights of my trip. The stay at the ryokan, including time spent in an onsen, was also very relaxing. Overall I was pleased with my experiences but at the same time I was disappointed with a few experiences. I am currently unconvinced that a short-term career shift to Japan is the right option for me. I will discuss more about that at the end of this post.

First a little about the pleasant experiences I had. Shinjuku, Harajuku, Ikebukuro, and other teeming areas in Tokyo were amazing. I had been looking at pictures of these places for years but nothing could have prepared me for the sheer amount of liveliness and motion that takes place in those hubs. The train stations were slightly intimidating at first, and I felt that any length of time spent in Tokyo traveling to and fro via train might make for a stressful life. Perhaps that is why some Japanese tend to often spend evenings and weekends relaxing with abundance of alcohol or at a ryokan. The game centers and panchinko parlors were also very interesting. Tokyo is truly a city that never sleeps.