Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

10 days in Hokkaido 2007/9/4 17:34
Hi everyone,

I am about to start my trip around Japan and can't decide on what to do in Hokkaido. From what I have already planned, I will be able to get there on 5.10 (Friday). I will have to come back to Tokyo at 14.10 (Sunday) before, letfs say, 8pm. Ifll also have a Japan Rail Pass valid till 11.10 (Thursday). Ifm interested only in exploring nature and hiking – no sightseeing or onsening. As I am a photographer, Ifll look for possibilities of taking good pictures as well.

My initial itinerary is as follows:

5.10, Friday:
getting from Aomori to Wakkanai by trains
spending a night in Wakkanai.

6-7.10, Saturday-Sunday:
visiting Rebun-to. Would like to rent a bike there
getting back to Wakkanai to catch a train to Asihakawa (at 18:02)
night in Asihakawa

8-10.10 Monday-Wednesday:
Daisetsuzan park – Sounkyo Gorge, eventually hiking in the nearby hills
Furano and/or Biei
Catching the 18:30 train from Asahikawa to Sapporo

11-13.10 Thursday-Saturday:
renting a car, getting to Shikotsu-Toya park
lake Shikotsu, exploring one of the nearby mountains (Monbetsu, Eniwa, or Tarumae – depends on conditions)
lake Toya, getting to Usu and Jigokudani (depending on how much time will I still have)

14.10 Sunday:
getting to Chitose Airport, flying back to Tokyo.

What do you think about this plan? Is it possible to complete it? Do you have any other suggestions (like changing some of the places to others – more attractive or easier to access)?
by tomi1  

Hokkaido 2007/9/5 17:04
If time permitted, you may wish to explore Rishiri-to and Shiretoko National Park, plenty of scenery for photographing.
Enjoy your trip!
by tju rate this post as useful

Shiretoko park 2007/9/5 17:24