Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Can one only get a visa issued once? 2007/9/17 08:39
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but I've heard that a person is only eligible for a visa (any visa?) once, not more.

I myself have been to Japan for a year (am now back in my home country) on a pre-college/student visa where I studied at a Japanese language school.

Prior to coming to Japan for my Japanese studies, I hadn't been to university. I'm starting university this September by the way.

I was just wondering if it is possible to ever come back to Japan again on a student visa for let's say a year or so? Is it really true that you can only get a visa issued once? If so why?

thx

D
by D  

... 2007/9/17 11:47
No! Almost all types of visa, including student visas, can be issued multiple times. There is no upper limit.

One exception is the working holiday visa, which can be issued only once:
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2350.html
by Uji rate this post as useful

visas 2007/9/17 13:03
Maybe whoever told you that was thinking of Working holiday visas? As far as I know you can only ever have one of them. Other visas as Uji says don't have such restrictions, although I have heard it is not easy to get a second Entertainer's visa.
by Sira rate this post as useful

definitely student visa 2007/9/17 21:41
Hi you guys, thanks for your replies.

Then, if it really is the case that a student visa can be re-issued, is a student's grade/attendency rate etc. taken into account when re-issuing a visa? (i.e. could a visa be rejected because a student's grade didn't meet certain requirements?)

Yes, I'm absolutely positive the guy I heard it from was talking about student visas and not working holiday visas.