Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

how much time does a working visa take? 2007/10/4 16:05
hi everyone, i am thinking of moving to japan and working and living there. however i have a question...of course :P

i am now studying japanese and am in my final year.me and my teacher are looking into a internship wich will give me a working visa but to obtain it, he says, it will take 3 months...

my future plan was actually to go to japan on a tourist visa and look for a job and then obtain a working visa while i am in japan....so when you are in japan itself does it then also take 3 months to obtain such a visa? cause that would be a bit nasty considering that i can only be 3 months in japan max as a tourist...:/
by ninmi  

... 2007/10/6 11:15
In easy cases, it can be as fast as one month. In more complicated cases it can take three months. There is no major difference timewise between doing it inside or outside of Japan.
by Uji rate this post as useful

i see... 2007/10/6 15:44
i see...so that means that. if you take a job in a bar...it might take just a month...and if you want to work at a big company it can take more? so it kinda depends on the job how complicated it is and stuff? hmmm....
by ninmi rate this post as useful

; 2007/10/7 13:42
Actually getting a visa for a bar would be harder then getting it for a big company.
Also you can't come to Japan on a temporary visa and change, unless you come to Japan for 90 days as a U.S. citizen or whatever nationality you hold that allows you to stay in Japan with issuing a visa, and find a job to host you for a certificate of eligibilty (which helps you obtaina visa faster), leave out of the country have the certificate mailed to you, get the visa and return to JApan legally able to work.