Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Japan 28-Day Itinerary Help 2007/10/11 14:40
I will be traveling to Japan on Jan 21 and departing Feb 19, my plane landing in Tokyo on the 22nd, effectively giving myself and my companion 28 days to stay within Japan on somewhat of a budget trip. This is my first time out of the country (not hers) and neither of us have ever been to Japan and want to see as much as we possibly can of all that Japan has to offer, whilst still pacing ourselves and allowing for ample time and exploring to be spent in our major destinations.

Below is the basic itinerary we have come up with thus far, however with regards as to how long should be spent in each destination is up for debate.

FLIGHT: TOKYO
Jan 21
TOKYO
Jan 22-26 5 days
TRAVEL TO: HIROSHIMA / HIROSHIMA
Jan 27-28 2 days
TRAVEL TO: KYOTO / KYOTO
Jan 29-Feb 05 8 days
TRAVEL TO: SAPPORO
Feb 06 Entire Day
SAPPORO
Feb 07-10 4 days
TRAVEL TO: TOKYO
Feb 11 Entire Day
TOKYO
Feb 12-18 7 days
FLIGHT: HOME
Feb 19

We are willing to allow to either spend more or less time in Tokyo/Kyoto respectively slightly, as well as perhaps shorten our Sapporo trip by one day only. We are hoping to catch the end of the Sumo Wrestling Tournament in Tokyo on either the 24th or 25th, as well as the Sapporo Snow Festival (5th-11th). I was hoping to be in Sapporo for my birthday on the Feb 7 but that should not get in the way of our time best spent elsewhere. We would also love to be in Kyoto for Setsubun festival (Feb 3rd or 4th... can someone clarify for 2008?).