Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How far is safe october 22 2007/10/17 21:24
hi everyone. my friend and i will be in the mt fuji area on 21 and 22 of october and i want to know what is a recommended height to climb. i have climbing experience (macdonald ranges, flinders ranges, ayers rock (uluru) in australia but these are far smaller i am aware. i am sensible and aware of taking lots of water and food and making stops. we are both young and fit. i don:t have proper climbing gear - just pants, jumper, spray jacket, wool hat. although i have some experience i know without the proper gear, experience is not enough. how far do you think would be safe to go? do you recommend the climb at all? i would make ascent and decent during the day so no need for huts. i would want to start from kawaguchi-ko@5th station.
by Tim  

Cold climbing 2007/10/19 00:45
Late October is probably going to be a pretty cold and snowy time to climb up. The mountain is only "open" in July and August which means you won't have any food/huts/etc available. It was about 40 degrees with freezing rain while I was climbing last year in August. Also, I don't know whether or not the buses will still go all the way to station 5 in October but that's a good thing to check too. If not, that's another 3-6 hours of walking.

I think a lot will depend on how the weather is on the day you go out to Fuji. If it's bad weather I probably wouldn't go up. If it's nice, it might be worth it to go up to station 6 or 7. Just be careful though, the weather can change VERY quickly on the mountain.
by Brent rate this post as useful

Fuji in winter 2007/10/19 08:42