Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Cultural Activities Visa 2007/11/24 14:59
Hello!

I've been an exchange student in japan for about 8 months, and have a one-year student visa, valid until the end of next march. But for various reasons, I'd like to be able to live in Japan for a longer time, as long as it is possible with my passport being valid only until summer '09.

First option I thought was a working visa, but it doesn't seem to be possible without any degree. Working holiday would be perfect, but I'm not lucky enough to have a correct nationality...

Now I'm thinking about possibility to get Cultural Activities Visa, as one of the reasons I want to stay really is to continue practicing kendo I started soon after arriving. I have read about requirements etc. I could find using google, but still lack of enough knowledge to decide if ca-visa is actually possible in my case.

I currently train kendo in the club of my college, usually 3-4 times a week. The club has formal practice 3 times a week and self-practice time twice (about 2 hours each). The club has some kind of supervisor eg. in tournaments (shiai), but not in usual practices. Could it be possible to get visa to practice kendo in this club? Or should I rather look for some kendo school etc? Or does the fact that I have not practiced kendo in my home country make it impossible to get ca-visa?

I believe to have enough money to live for a year, but it would help to get to do some part-time jobs, and I have understood that it is possible for ~20h/week with this kind of visa.