Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Careers in Japanese 2007/12/12 16:02
Hi, I'm a 19 year old University student living in Australia. I'm currently studying Japanese and Economics (specifically Management and Marketing at the moment). I am in this degree because I finished high school and decided that I loved Japanese and that I would love to follow a career path that uses the language or allows me to work in Japan. As i enter my second (of 5) year, the problem I face now is what career.

I already know I want to do the JET programme for a year or two after graduation and I'm thinking of doing a year exchange before my course finishes. I have slightly looked into Translation/Interpereting as a possiblility but heard it can be a difficult career to get into and work can be sparse. To be honest, this is the only career that I can think of off the top of my head that will allow me the oppotunities I desire. There is also English teaching but I fear my lack of english study in my course will affect my chances (I can, however, do a teaching diploma as a post-graduate).

I was wondering if anyone could suggest some careers that would allow me to use my Japanese or live/travel to Japan. Obviously I am not about to decide my future career now but I wouldn't mind some direction to aim my research.

Thank you.
by Dave  

wait and see 2007/12/12 17:06
You don't have to think too much about your future career now. You will make a lot of friends when you study at a university in Japan. Some of those students are finding jobs in Japan after their courses, so you may get a good information from them.
by mamiko rate this post as useful

I had thought about it... 2007/12/12 18:24