Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Lowest living costs in Japan? 2008/1/4 08:32
Hi,

I'm a Canadian undergraduate university student studying Japanese Language and East Asian History who is really, really short on cash (I'm basically becoming an indentured servant through loans for this university degree, I'm hoping I won't regret this too much afterwards) but I still have great ambitions to master Japanese, especially since my research could be so much better if I could read the primary sources in Japanese, so I want to further my Japanese studies in Japan itself.

So I'm thinking it can still be done, but I need to go to a cheap place. I'm willing to live anywhere in Japan (although since many of my Japanese friends are Osaka or Kobejin, I'd rather go in Kansai, but that's really luxury), no matter how remote, as long as it's in Japan and cheap. I envision staying in a small unfurnished one room apartment with tatami floors, sleeping on a bedroll and cooking everything with a rice cooker (that's an added difficulty, for health reasons, my diet is restricted to mostly chicken, fish, rice, pasta and white bread, so I have to cook for myself because I never know what people put in it) As long as where I'm at is safe, there's a university and there's access to health care, pretty much anything is okay.

Up till now, I've found that living costs would be acceptable in Akita. I would be very thankful if anybody could indicate to me other places for me to go study at on a budget. I guess something like... Around, or hopefully below 45,000/month for rent, utilities, food, transportation, etc.

Is that feasible, or am I just better off heading off starting to learn Mandarin and head to China instead? :/
by JF  

part-time job? 2008/1/4 11:15