Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

what Kind of Jobs 2008/1/10 20:26
I have just found out recently that I can't work as a nurse in Japan despite having a degree in that field. Apparently, Japanese government is very conservative when it comes to hiring foreign nurses. Anyway, Iam getting married soon to my Japanese boyfriend and moving up to Tokyo. I have already been there 5 times but that was for visiting purposes only. I have a nursing degree to my name at the moment and I have been told by my boyfriend that I need to go to Japanese school before I can attend one of the Japanese universities for further education.
Inspite of my boyfriend working, I still need a job for my own expenditures. what kind of jobs will I be able to get without any degrees? I am an Indian by the way but I speak perfect English. SOME HELP PLIZ.
by Aoi  

. 2008/1/11 10:28
Did you really expect to become a nurse in Japan without knowing the local language? Could someone from Ukraine go to India and become a nurse without knowing the local language?

Your written English is better than many native English speakers, but how is your pronunciation? If that's also "perfect" then you could probably become an English teacher. You could also try proofreading.
by Jon rate this post as useful

Visa issue 2008/1/11 11:23
Your most important issue is which visa you would be staying on. Is your degree a Bachelor of nursing? If so then you will probably be eligible for a working visa, although I'm not sure on this as people who teach English or work in IT or finance here usually have a Bachelor of Arts or Science.