Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Need advise for moving to Japan! 2008/1/17 06:37
I've read a lot about being an English teacher is the easiest way to get a working visa and move to Japan, and I have a few questions/concerns.

1) I am currently a citizen of Taiwan, and I am currently studying in the US as a foreign student. Is there a restriction to become a teacher in Japan for me? Since there isn't a Japanese embassy in Taiwan.

2) I'll be done with my Master's degree in May for Mechanical Engineering and was wondering if there are other careers for me other than just an English teacher.

3) Are there universities or schools that look for foreigners to teach engineering related courses in English? If so, will my Master's degree be enough?

4) Since NOVA closed down, is the demand for English teacher still high? Will they hire me even if I don't have a degree in the field of teaching? What are my chances of getting sponsored?

Any help is definitely appreciated. Thanks in advance.
by JJ  

. 2008/1/17 07:42
Since you are currently in the US you can go to the Japanese Embassy or any of the Japanese Consulates in the US.

Even though there is no Japanese Embassy in Taiwan because of diplomatic status of the country, Japan has what is called an "Interchange Association office in Taipei" which is a "defacto embassy" in Taiwan. Which processes visas etc.

The US and many other countries have similar offices in Taiwan that are defacto embassies that issue visas etc, but do not call them embassies because of diplomatic relations.

NOVA did not close down. It went bankrupt, but is now back under brand new management. However many teachers were not rehired.

I still wouldn't work for them.