Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 1 of 3: Posts 1 - 20 of 49

1 2 3
next

buying real estate in JP as a foreigner 2008/1/18 05:49
How difficult is it for foreigners to buy real estate in Japan, for either business or private purposes? What are the procedures?

In general, are Japanese real estate companies supportive of foreigners wanting to buy real estate, or are they apposed?

thanks

by D  

i'm no expert 2008/1/18 08:56
i'm no expert but i don't think there are any restrictions. real estate agents vary greatly in their ability and attitude. there are many big agents that are used to dealing with foreigners.
by joseph rate this post as useful

Real estate 2008/1/18 09:09
D,

Apart from the obvious problems of language difficulties if dealing with Japanese estate agents, I don't think there are any particular restrictions on non-Japanese buying land or property. Note however that mortgages for private individuals are generally only available to residents with permanent status.
by Dave in Saitama rate this post as useful

what about non-residents? 2008/1/18 23:50
Joseph, Dave in Japan

Thanks for your replies.

Dave, so you're saying that it is NOT a requirement to actually be a resident of Japan to buy property there, correct?

In that context I would like to know the following too: Let's say that I'm not a resident of Japan, but I buy property there, would I then still be required to have the necessary visas to stay in Japan (working visa, spouse visa etc.), or would my buying property there allow me to stay in Japan for an unlimited amount of time?
by D rate this post as useful

Buying/owning property 2008/1/19 00:03
D,

so you're saying that it is NOT a requirement to actually be a resident of Japan to buy property there, correct?