Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

can i resign from my job? 2008/1/24 00:01
this is my first time resigning, im in japan,osaka. Do i have the right to resign, can they deny me my resignation, i mean i tried to give my resignation but they rejected it, can they do that? ive just been in the company for two months, but i am having problems with the company, and i need to resign.. can you guys tell me what to do
by solution Seeker  

Legally you can resign any time. 2008/1/24 13:05
Of course they can't reject your resignation - you are free to do what you like. If you have a working visa then you don't lose your status, you can look for another job and start working on the same visa. If the company threatens that you will lose your visa, don't worry, that is not true.

They may withhold pay if you leave- you can take them to court over this but that will probably be more trouble than it is worth, so after giving them due warning that you will leave, just stop going in.

If you are working illegally then you will have more problems- they may threaten to call the police or Immigration authorities etc. If so then you have no choice but to leave Japan or you will be deported anyway.

Forcing someone to work at a company against their will is illegal and is close to human trafficking.

Don't listen to them, leave the job straight away if you don't want to stay.
by Sira rate this post as useful

... 2008/1/24 13:26
I would be sure to check what the contract says - a month's notice, maybe? If that's what it says, I would try to stick with it, so that they cannot later claim that you just left without proper notice.