Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Transport in Nikko 2008/2/17 21:05
Hi everyone. It's my first time going to Japan and any help planning transportation would be helpful.

I'm wondering would it be better to take a taxi or bus from Tayuinbyo to Chuzenji Onsen considering there will be 3 of us travelling and what the estimated price difference would be?

Many thanks.
by Phil  

... 2008/2/18 08:28
The bus to Chuzenji would cost about 3000 yen for three persons. A rough estimate of the taxi fare would be 4000 to 5000 yen.
by Uji rate this post as useful

. 2008/2/18 10:39
Isn't Tayuinbyo covered by the Nikko Free pass?
by Haf rate this post as useful

... 2008/2/18 12:34
Isn't Tayuinbyo covered by the Nikko Free pass?

I think it is covered. Tayuinbyo is not specifically mentioned among the sites covered on the official website, but because it is considered part of Rinnoji Temple, i think it is also covered.I cannot guarantee, though.

In any case, I don't see what this question has to do with this thread.

. 2008/2/18 14:20
and what the estimated price difference would be?

I asked the additional question because when it is covered by the Free Pass which most people travelling to Nikko should use anyway, it will certainly make more sense for Phil to use the bus than when it isn't covered.
by Haf rate this post as useful

... 2008/2/18 18:33
I see. In any case, pricewise, the free pass is certainly the cheaper version.

.. 2008/2/18 19:38
I already have a JR Pass and was planning to go to Nikko the long way round. Would it still be worth getting the Nikko Pass? Or would it be better to buy it and take the Tobu line from Asakusa if the savings are insignificant?

Thanks.
by Phil rate this post as useful

... 2008/2/18 22:00