Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

9-day trip suggestions 2008/2/18 09:11
Hello, my name is Jamie and I will be visiting Japan from March 11- 20th. I will be staying in Tokyo with a friend for a few days (she is an American working in Japan) and the only other destination on my tour is Osaka. I love nature, hiking, both modern and ancient Japanese culture, music and of course, food.

I am a 38 y/o male professional who has to Asia before, just never Japan. I am definitely looking to meet new friends in Japan (male or female) to hang out with learn more about your culture.

I am wondering if it makes sense to purchase the 7-day rail pass.

I look forward to hearing any and all suggestions!

Thanks!

Jamie
by Jamieakaplan  

... 2008/2/18 12:31
If you complete a round trip Tokyo-Osaka within seven calendar days, a 7-day Japan Rail Pass will be a good offer. It costs about the same as regular shinkansen tickets. You could do cheaper, though. Here are your options:
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e4006.html
by Uji rate this post as useful

9 days 2008/2/18 14:42
You can use your JR pass on the loop lines in both Tokyo and Osaka and of course on JR trains from these 2 towns to nearby towns, so the JR PASS is a good deal.
by Red Frog rate this post as useful

Edo-Tokyo museum 2008/2/18 16:54
http://www.edo-tokyo-museum.or.jp/english/index.html

I visited Edo-Tokyo museum yeaterday and I think it's worth visiting if you are interested in Japanese culture. There are so many visual guidance like maps, replicas and figures that you can feel what Edo-Tokyo is like even without language. Moreover, English guide volunteer is available.

There is also 'Ukiyoe museum' , japanese woodblock print established in Edo period, if you are interested.
http://www.ukiyoe-ota-muse.jp/english.html
by Miki rate this post as useful