Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

where to live w/ japanese spouse 2008/3/18 14:43
i am american married to japanese spouse. we are young, have been married for three years, all of which were spent in US while I'm a grad student. we are not sure whether we want to live in the US or Japan. how has that all-important decision gone for readers of this forum? have you lived a few years in japan, a few years in the US (or elsewhere etc.)?
by Poyo  

personal 2008/3/20 08:41
That's a difficult decision to make and one that would be unique to each couple. I can't give you much advice besides saying "talk to your spouse." Your decision should be based on your professional goals, family goals, interests, preferences, etc... Take your time to talk it out and think about the future deeply (it's hard for a young married couple - I'm in a similar situation). Best of luck!
by chan_konabe rate this post as useful

where?? 2008/3/20 08:54
there are 2 considerations: 1)the main one is how easy will it be for each one of you to get a job in either country? this will help decide everything else as regardless where you live your family needs an income. Your Japanese wife can get a job in Japan and likely also in the USA but can you easily get a well paying job in Japan? do you speak Japanese? 2) how much do you each really like the other country, its culture etc.? have you spent some time in Japan?
by Red Frog rate this post as useful

more info 2008/3/20 09:38