Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Cheap Transport in Naha City, Okinawa? 2008/3/24 03:00
I am a college student majoring in Horticulture going to intern at Southeast Botanical Gardens in Naha City, Okinawa. The Garden is arranging my lodging, but they warn it could be out of walking distance. What (cheap) options would I have for reliable transportation to and from work? What public transporation runs close to the Garden? I need to arrange something cheap, since I do not know if I will have any income other than the apartment from the Garden and so will be paying for food and other neccessities with my own money, and I haven't got much of that.
by Staci Revers  

Okinawa City 2008/3/25 12:09
SE Botanical Gardens are actually in Okinawa City about 17 or so miles north of Naha, about a mile north of Kadena Air Base. I would suggest looking for a place to stay in either Okinawa City or Uruma. I'm not sure about the bus routes in the area, however, as an alternative, a bicycle or a small scooter might be the way to go. I'll see if I can find bus routes later. It's getting late here.
by Paul rate this post as useful

Cars... 2008/3/25 22:20
The only public transport on Okinawa are buses. While the network of buses is fairly extensive, they are slow and rarely on time (due to traffic.) You could find yourself taking an hour to get to someplace barely out of walking range by bus (I did this for 2 months). If you are going to be staying any length of time you need an international driver's license and a car! Scooters and bikes are popular here, but personally I would not do that as it rains a lot and the roads get slippery, that and the traffic is really congested, plus narrow roads. Kei car is the way to go...
by Living in Oki city rate this post as useful

Thank you for the info 2008/3/26 02:54