Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Become a pyschologist in Japan? 2008/5/2 22:16
want to become a pyschologist in Japan. I plan on going to Japan on a foreign exchange progrom on my senior year in highschool. Is there a college in Japan, that teaches how to speak japanses, write, and culture, while I am getting my degree in psychology? Then after, where do I start after I got my degree (mostly likely geting PH.D)? I was looking at Sophia university and was trying to find the intution fee, but can't find it or its in Japanese.

Any information will be helpful!
by Blount  

. 2008/5/3 12:20
I think it would be very difficult for a foreigner to become a psychologist in Japan. A primary trait that a psychologist must have is to be able to identify with the patient, which would seem nigh impossible if you are brought up in a different culture.
by Jay rate this post as useful

Japanese school with an English program 2008/5/3 17:42
If you can't figure Japanese schools out by reading its homepage because its in Japanese, then it probably doesn't have a program for you.
by Mr. Common rate this post as useful

Japan 2008/5/3 20:43
Only a tiny number of non-Japanese medical practitioners have ever been accredited to practice in Japan, and I very much doubt that full degree courses in psychology are offered in English.

Reaching the level of Japanese required to understand a psychology course would take several years of intensive fulltime language study. Adding to that the huge cultural differences- it's not really a realistic goal I am afraid.
by Sira rate this post as useful

Becoming a psychologist in Japan 2008/11/2 13:24
Hi, I just came across your question and just to add a little more information and agreement with previous posters here.