Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

how to start living in japan 2008/5/13 09:18
i've been thinking of moving to japan for a while for like 6 yrs now but i don't know where to start i just need some help find how to start this big move i mean im a welder i have a certification im 19 an reallly have my heart set on this goal.

thank you
by hakeem  

Japan 2008/5/13 15:02
What is your nationality? If you are from Canada, Australia, the UK or NZ among other countries then you are eligible for a working holiday visa. If not, then without a university degree (or 10 years experience in your field) you can't be sponsored for a working visa.

I very much doubt there are jobs for foreign welders in Japan, as most foreigners here do jobs where the fact that they speak English or another language is an asset- i.e. English teaching, translating, IT and finance at international companies etc.

If you had very fluent Japanese and a student or spouse visa (requiring either full time study or being married to a Japanese) then it might be possible to find welding work, but otherwise it's extremely unlikely, I'm afraid.
by Sira rate this post as useful

Is there another way 2008/5/13 19:29
Say i just wanted to go there an do regular work like a normal person in japan what visa do you think i need jus to stay there like i have the enough money 2 pay for my stay like this is somthing i wanted 2 do for a long time im learning japanese now but its dont very good im good to wait intill im ok with it like i thinks its good if can under stand it an hold a convo i jus need to now where 2 start thank you
by Hakeem rate this post as useful

... 2008/5/13 23:30
Hakeem, as Sira said above if you are from a select few countries you could get a working holiday visa. See here for more information: