Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

modeling in japan? 2008/5/13 09:43
Can a person from America be a model in Japan? How does it work? Do you have to send photos? How old do you have to be and is there a certain height?

Sorry for all the questions I'm just curious and I'm thinking about being a model.
I am 16 years old and 5'3...but I have no modeling experience.
by Trish  

moeling in tokyo 2008/5/13 12:58
from what i've read, american models are popular in tokyo. Generally blonds and brunets do better than red heads. Make sure the agencies you contact are reputable ones, check out Bravo models and Visage inc. on the web. Hope this helps some(:
by zebulan rate this post as useful

Japan 2008/5/13 15:06
Basically if you could model in your home country and can put together a professional portfolio, then you could model in Japan. Your height might be an issue here as well I'm afraid. Try contacting some agents as recommended above though and see what they say.
by Sira rate this post as useful

thank you 2008/5/14 08:22
And another question, are there a lot of teen models that are filipinos...specifically the tanner ones?
by Trish rate this post as useful

model 2008/5/14 14:05
I have to say truthfully that the way you're describing yourself, it is not likely that you'd be successful as a model in Japan. You could try but usually the cutoff for a model is 5'8'', and that's the minimum, or in the professional business at least. It could be slightly different in Japan considering people in Japan are a bit shorter, but I'd think you'd have to have an exceptionally unique look. People of European descent(or, white) have a much higher chance of succeeding. I would get a professional's honest opinion though.
by Modelingadvice rate this post as useful

modelling 2008/5/14 19:21