Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

could manga be made in europe 2008/5/14 23:40
hello! i live in portugal! i'm a great designer and writter, not to mention an original one(not jokin!. i allways wanted to be a mangaka but there's little info on companies here that are willing to work on manga. isn't any companie in europe willing to publish my work? and if so, is there a change that i may be assigned to japan? i would really apreciate any help.
by ric  

Manga 2008/5/16 04:46
France has a big "Manga" industry. They are called "bandes dessinees" and very serious bookstores have a whole section devoted to them.There is an international festival in the town of Angouleme every year (next is January 2009). There are monthly magazines too. The most famous and perhaps oldest, already published in the 1960s, is "Metal hurlant". The US version is called Heavy Metal. Check French magazines and books in the best bookstores in Portugal, they may have them (we get them in North America so..).
here is a list of French publishers of BD : Albin Michel - Casterman - Dargaud - Delcourt - Dupuis - Glenat - Les Humanoïdes associés - Le Lombard - Soleil - Paquet - Pika - Vents dfOuest - Futuropolis. Try to Google them. In French of course.
by Auntie Bert rate this post as useful

not impossible 2008/5/16 08:51
"if so, is there a change that i may be assigned to japan?"

There is a couple of South Korean manga artists that are successful in Japan. These artists were originally successful in their home country S. Korea, but with the help of a bi-cultural manager, they were able to make a contract with a Japanese publisher and have a manga series translated to Japanese language so that they could publish it in Japan.