Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How can I use dried mochi? 2008/5/21 22:35
I recently heard about mochi, and decided I really wanted to try some (as I always enjoy trying new things). I don't have any shops nearby where I can buy fresh ones (I am in the UK) and so I decided to purchase some ready-made mochi online, to avoid having to make it from scratch (I am a student and really don't have all the time to do that).

Anyway, I wanted to make sweet mochi with a red bean filling. I have a bag of mochi (round, flat and very hard) and the red bean paste in a can. But, the bag is purely in japanese. I had hoped that the shop would have provided a translation, as it is in England. However, they did not. There are 2 pictures on the back; one of an oven and one of a cooking pot.

Can anyone help me please? I cannot find anywhere where it gives me information on this.
by Patrick  

some explanation 2008/5/22 10:58
First of all, mochi is that thing you have now. That is the most typical form of mochi that most locals purchase to eat at home.

To eat it, all you have to do is heat it and it will soften automatically. Typically, locals would toast it in an oventoaster or stew it in soup-y dishes. Traditionally, you would grill it over low charcoal heat. You can eat it as soon as it gets soft enough that the inside starts to sort of blow a bit. Watch out though, because if you heat it too much, it will start to melt and get your toaster or pan all sticky.

Once you have your mochi softened, typically locals would season it with soy sauce or sweaten it by topping with azuki bean paste.

What you are trying to make is called "daifuku". It's a kind of "mochi-gashi (mochi sweats)" and not many locals make them by themselves. They buy it from the confectionary shops.