Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Experience for visa? 2008/5/26 10:56
Hi, everyone.

I've been living in Taiwan for the past 7 years, teaching English - lucky enough to have a wonderful wife which made it easy on the visa application.

I don't have a degree, having dropped it to move to Taiwan on a spur-of-the-moment leap of the heart. But I have experience.

In total, I have five years experience teaching kindergarten. About four at an adult cram school and six in a children's cram school. I also have two years experience teaching junior and senior high, which will be three by the time my contract ends and I am ready to move.

My wife wants out of Taiwan due to issues within her family, and isntead of moving back to Australia with her - we are eyeing Japan as an option instead.

I would be able to move over alone at first and set things up, then work on getting her and my little one over as dependants.

What are my chances? Any advice?

[[ And yes, I am about to go and look at ESLCafe ]]
by TaiwanExpat  

no chance 2008/5/26 11:39
sorry but i think you have no chance without a degree. did you finish at least 2 years of your degree? the other alternative is a working holiday visa if you are under 30.
by joseph rate this post as useful

... 2008/5/26 12:11
I'm 27 at the moment, so 28 when I will be ready. By 'completing 2 years' I presume you mean with full passes, to which my reply would be "No."

I studied CSSE for 2 years, just managing to scrape through, but decided that (at the time) I didn't want computing for a job. So I transferred to a BA in Languages and Linguistics, which I only studied for half a year before running to Taiwan.

I speak fluent English (of course) and quite decent Mandarin as well as learning Japanese at this very moment.
by TaiwanExpat rate this post as useful