Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How to adjust back. 2008/5/30 23:37
How to adjust back?

When a person, who was raised in Southern California as I was, then move to Yokohama/Tokyo for 2 years, and then move back, how does said person adjust back to the life they once knew?

That is the question that I have been griping over for the past 3 months.

My wife and I came back from Japan after working a number of English Club jobs (learned that was a bad idea), and finally able to secure a Design/Mechanical Engineering position in a company based out of Shin-Yokohama. After my contract ran-out my wife and I decided that we wanted to move back to California. The main reason for the move was that we missed California, but all of the typical frustrations of Japanese big city living played a big part of it.

Such as:

- Being stuck in a train at rush-hour. (I lost count of the times that I felt molested by the purse or briefcase of the person behind me. Yeah, that was no fun.)
- When somebody says gShouganaih(For example, when your English Club employer urges you take more hours, but later when itfs payday, does not have enough money that month to pay you. What do they say? They say gShouganaih.)
- The worse for me, the feeling of not upsetting the herd was more important than standing-up for yourself. (I found that this feeling reverberated across many lines of Japanese society. From the haken who was verbally abused by perm-workers, or English teacher who accepted unwarranted and illogical criticism from there students, and even the sweet Oba-chan who was caring grocery bags in a train and was not given a seat by a man who was talking on his cell-phone. Ifm not kidding this happened)