Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How can I explain to my penpal.... 2008/6/5 05:02
That it's going to be difficult to talk to her over msn? I live in New Zealand, which is actually only 3hrs ahead of Japan, but last time she emailed me, I received it at 4am local time. Obviously I'm not going to be awake at 4am as I have school the next day. And assumably if my homestay experience is anything to go by Japanese students are constantly busy and late nights are common. So I don't think she'll be able to speak to me on msn very often.

So could someone with obvious proficiency in Japanese tell me how I would explain this to her. I have been learning Japanese for nearly three years now, and I can have decent conversations with Japanese people, but this is beyond my knowledge.
by magpie1862  

Is this what you mean? 2008/6/5 15:15
If you want to say something like:
It's going to be difficult to talk to you over msn. This is because we are ahead of you by three hours' time, and by your late night, I will already be asleep. I tend not to stay up very late at night.

Then it would be:
MSN de yoru hanasu no wa chotto muri ka to omoimasu. Jisa ga san-jikan de, Nihon no yoru osoku, kimi ga MSN wo miru jikan ga aru toki ni wa, watashi wa mou nete imasu. Amari yoru osoku made okite inai node.
(It's going to be a bit impossible to talk on MSN at night. The time difference is three hours, and by late night in Japan, when you have time to see MSN, I'm already asleep. Generally I don't stay up too late at night.)
by AK rate this post as useful

すごい! 2008/6/5 17:22
ほんとにありがとうございました。
by magpie1862 rate this post as useful

. 2008/6/6 04:55