Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

So I want to be a manga artist 2008/6/20 14:06
Ever since I was younger I've wanted to be some type of artist. Now that I've come to love Japan (to the point where I want to visit and possibly live there someday) I think I could become at least a small-time/amateur manga artist.

I've been drawing ever since I was little and have come up with some great ideas I can't wait to put on paper.

I know that I should probably learn how to speak and write in Japanese, so I'm going to be saving my money to buy the Rosetta Stone program (maybe I won't have to read English subtitles anymore).

Everyone I know thinks I'm a wonderful artist, so I think I could at least get published in America. Any tips on how to get started in this career would be highly appreciated.

So I guess I should actually ask a question. What materials should I use to create my manga? (I know I could look this up somewhere, but it's still a legitimate question.

Thank you very much for reading and/or replying.
by GinKaarii  

Don't bother with translation programs 2008/6/20 15:03
First, no translation program is up to the level of translating comic-book (manga) dialog. If you don't believe me, try a google translation of Japanese websites and put them in English. You won't like what you see. Translation programs are about 70%-80% accurate, which seems good until you realize that getting 20%-30% of every sentence wrong is pretty horrendous. There is no magic way to get around a language barrier. You either have to spend the years and years learning the language, hire a real-person translator, or do your comics in your mother tongue. My suggestion is the latter.

Do your comic in English, and when you submit it, submit it to publishers of English-language comics and manga.