Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Just got into TUJ 2008/7/1 14:02
Hello I have been reading the posts on Japan guide for some time now and this is my first time posting so Ifm not shore if I am doing this right butcwe will see!

Ok herefs my question, I just got my acceptance letter from Temple university Japan (TUJ) and it had mentioned attendance to one of there new student placement tests, orientation, and academic advising and registrations.

I was wondering if Anyone who is going to TUJ or is going to be might know how they go about doing this with students that live outside of Japan?

Also on a more brooder aspect, I am kind of wondering what it like for a American female In Tokyo? Are there any things other then the basic things, (basic living in the city common sense) that I should be prepared for before I go?
by Nightfire  

... 2008/7/4 07:33
The orientation/test/ etc all take place after your arrival in japan. The check in date for new students is about a week or so before the semester starts.

As for being a foreign female, I am a foreign female and I would say there isnt too much you have to worry about. You'll get the odd guy trying to pick you up once in awhile but i've never felt threatened or in danger.
by K rate this post as useful

things to bring 2008/7/4 07:53
Most people advise bringing anti-perspirant/ deodorant because the Japanese versions are weaker.

A lot of people also say the over-the-counter medicines like allergy and cold medicines here don't work for them. I haven't noticed this personally, but I seem to be in the minority.

If you are bigger/ taller than the average Japanese woman then shoes, hose, pants, bras etc. that fit can be difficult to find. I'm 5'9" and take a US size 8.5 shoe and have a very limited selection of shoes and pants here.