Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Purchasing a mansion in Tokyo 2008/8/26 00:42
Hi,
Like the title says, I'm currently considering purchasing a mansion in Tokyo. I have no such experience before, so I'm not clear about a few things..
I've been reading around, and I get the idea that mansions in Japan only lasts for 25-30 years. Is this still true today, or does it only apply to older mansions? Also, after that "expiration date", most mansions get demolished and rebuilt. What happens to the ownership then? Are we entitled to some piece of the land with the mansion purchase?
I also get the idea that people dont seem to consider buying mansions as an investment here. Is this true only because of the stale japanese economy until now, or it's just that difficult to resell used mansions here?

Thanks in advance!
by zaobz  

Purchasing property 2008/8/26 12:52
Zaobz,

I've been reading around, and I get the idea that mansions in Japan only lasts for 25-30 years. Is this still true today, or does it only apply to older mansions?

You are referring to Japanese "manshons" (condominiums), right? I think 30-40 years is probably a reasonable ballpark figure.

Also, after that "expiration date", most mansions get demolished and rebuilt. What happens to the ownership then? Are we entitled to some piece of the land with the mansion purchase?

If you are an owner, then you own a percentage of the land on which the building stands, and thus have voting rights on what happens to the building at the various stages of its life. You would have to pay to have the building demolished and then rebuilt, although I think it is common for such work to be paid for at least partially by the fund built up over the years from resident association payments.