Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Company playing games 2008/9/11 22:46
Hello,

I accepted a job at a medium-sized Japanese company. The main source of income is cram school classes, but there is also a children's English conversation ''branch'' of the company, where I work as a teacher.

According to the job posting the salary was to be 255000 a month before taxes, plus transportation reimbursement. I went in for an interview and was told that the salary was indeed 255000 plus transportation, and that due to the fact that the company did not want to pay for benefits, etc, hours would be capped at just under 30, total.

So after the interview I was offered the job and I started the following week, as they were desperate to replace a teacher who had just left suddenly due to illness.

The first week was merely following a teacher from school to school to observe class. Meanwhile, suspiciously, I was told that the contract was not quite ready to be signed but would be ready ''any day.''

About two weeks went by and finally I was brought into the office to sign the contract. My boss (whom I trust) confided in me that the owner actually wanted to offer me less than was stated in the posting and interview, because they had made a mistake and hadn't realize that I was making more than the other teachers. However, to his credit, my boss refused to even consider it, but felt he had to at least mention it to me, since the owner had basically ordered him to bring it up.

Then when I was looking at the contract there were some weird things going on.