Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Purchasing HIgh Quality Katana 2008/10/1 05:42
Hello I will be taking a tour of japan within the next year for approx. a month. also i have been collecting japanese weaponry for several years. the majority of them are antique brought over from japan over the years (freinds, Family, etc) and i have now decided that when i travel there I will be looking to add a authentic high quality battle ready katana to act a the pinnacle of my collection. Im sure you can agree that this is a suitable idea because the katana is japan's most well known weapon. Sorry for the long intro i just want everyone to know that this is very important to me and the work i have been through gathering information about the subject so my question to you fine folks is where in japan i can have this katana made for me? I am aware of the permits i need. All i need is a smith who will make this for me, price is of no concern either. Another smaler question is one of customs, how would i go about taking the blade back to my home country of canada? thank you all for reading i look forward to any and all responses. thank you for your time and have a great day Sayonara

-Ryan
by Ryan Hodgson  

... 2008/10/1 18:20
I don't know alot about weaponry but this might help you.
When I first went to Japan I got a Katana for my husband, it cost just over $200 Canadian. My husband knows quite a bit about weaponry and he was really happy with it. This one I got in Kamakura, just beside the Buddha there is a store called "Souveniers of Japan" and they sell quite a bit of Japanese weaponry, some quite expensive as well. Like I said I don't know alot about this but my husband was very happy with the Katana I got him there.