Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Jobs Besides Teaching English? 2008/10/22 00:32
i have 3 years of work experience in America as a telephone operator for a major phone company. at my company, there was a Spanish speaking division, where all the operators provided service to customers in Spanish rather than English.

in Japan, the same thing must exist, only with an English speaking division, instead, right?

I was wondering if anyone knows of such jobs in Japan that may be offered to foreigners. Heck, I could do Spanish customer service too (native speaker), if there's a need for such employees in Japan!

I don't have a university degree, and I dont speak Japanese (i plan to take a course soon, though) but perhaps my job experience would help in getting me hired (maybe big companies will sponsor a work visa?)? I've read on this site that 3 years relevant work experience replaces a univ. degree for English teachers.

I would appreciate any info.!!!
by L  

Japanese skills? 2008/10/22 08:30
Customer service in other languages in Japan is almost always provided by people who are fluent in both Japanese and that language- usually Japanese people, although occasionally non-Japanese who speak Japanese fluently.

It's pretty unlikely you would find a phone customer service job in any company without a high level of Japanese I'm afraid.

by Sira rate this post as useful

. 2008/10/22 23:14