Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Wedding Photographer 2008/11/11 13:33
I am a Wedding Photographer moving to Japan from Australia, and I would like to know the best way to find agencies or wedding planners, and if anyone knows of any. Any other advice will be greatly appreciated.
by Alicia Fox  

no help 2008/11/12 07:26
sorry i can't help much other than say wedding photography in japan is a much much smaller industry than it is in the west. the language barrier is a big hamper as well.

most shrines/temples do not allow flash photography, as well as a lot of churches, and many japanese couples do not even consider a wedding photographer as part of the budget.

tough market here. i'd be doing it if there was more money to be made.
by winterwolf rate this post as useful

... 2008/11/12 10:09
I'd like to add a little to above response. I just got married in Japan and also know a foreign wedding photographer who is working in Japan.

It's not necessarily true that wedding photography is a smaller industry in Japan, rather the majority of weddings in Japan are package weddings held at hotels, kekkonshikijo (wedding centers), and shrines that include photography by in-house photographers. So it'd probably be more correct to say that freelance wedding photography is a smaller industry in Japan. However that doesn't mean it doesn't exist. My wife's relative is a wedding coordinator and regular works with a few different freelance photographers.

As for getting a job as a wedding photographer, the guy I know that is doing this just went to a bunch of different places (hotels and kekonshikijo) to see if they would hire him. Bring your portfolio and hope they are hiring. One thing to be aware of is that they are often salaried positions that don't necessarily pay very much.