Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

I'm Frustrated, How do.. 2008/11/25 20:59
Well this is the problem, i can speak japanese (Just basic Stuff, but very helpful)
But i can't read it or write it, i was playing GTA iv, And a japanese person added me as a friend, he was typing in hiragana which i can only read No/ku/shi/A/ect, im not very good with it,

I took like 30 mins to write a message saying that i don't speak japanese,

Now, i noticed REAL japanese people NEVER Types in ROMANJI, So i don't know if this is just me, or its a fact, what i want to do is ask this person to type in romanji for me, so i can understand, but i don't know if that's even goin to work. (it might even be rude but im not sure)

I feel Really frustrated because of that, i don't know why, i always feel like i want to communicate but i can't and it's driving me crazy
by Joseph  

Romaji 2008/11/26 09:26
Joseph,

Actually it's called "romaji".
Romaji was created for non-Japanese speakers, so the natives never use it except perhaps when writing emails back home from a PC overseas that cannot cope with Japanese input.
But back to your question, I don't think it's rude to ask your friend to write in Romaji if you are not able to read hiragana yet. Just note that Japanese written in romaji can actually be harder to read, since there are so many homophones in Japanese. Also, Japanese natives often use different (or mixed up) romanization from the Hepburn system that we learn, so you could come across spellings that don't make immediate sense.
by Dave in Saitama rate this post as useful

Romaji 2008/11/26 14:32