Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Tokyo to Kyoto, concert in Gunma 2008/12/16 14:11
I have a reservation at K's kyoto hostel and will be leaving (with 2 other travelers) from K's tokyo hostel to get there on December 22nd.

On the same day i have a concert in Gunma at Kenmin Kaikan (still trying to figure out which city that's located) that starts at 6:30pm. Assuming the concert will be until 9, i need to find my way back to Kyoto alone (because they'll have traveled to Kyoto on their own).

Sorry for all of my questions, but i'm PARANOID like hell since this is my first time in Japan.

My questions are:

How do i get to Gunma from Tokyo?

How do i find my way from Gunma all the way to Kyoto? More importantly, will i even make it in time before the trains stop running?

Anyone know where kenmin Kaikan is located exactly?

Note: i have a JR Pass
by CC  

... 2008/12/16 14:40
I don't understand what kind of hostel booking arrangements you have, but Gunma Kenmin Kaikan (Gunma prefecture hall) is in Gunma prefecture, near Maebashi station, slightly under two hours to the north of Tokyo (via local and express trains).

Are you aware that Kyoto is by Shinkansen superexpress train almost three hours to the WEST of Tokyo, meaning they are in completely different directions?

Suppose your concert ends at 9 at night, the same night you can get back as far as Tokyo, but you will not be able to take any train out until the next morning at all...
by ... rate this post as useful

... 2008/12/16 15:15
Going to the Gackt Concert?

Am afraid the previous poster is correct, there is no way that you will be in Kyoto until the next morning at the earliest. It sounds like the rest of your party is on their own for that night.