Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Differences 2008/12/25 01:59
Hello.
I am a student of the Japanese language, and this has always interested me - I see there are little nuances between these words, like:

話す − 語る
習う − 学ぶ
牛乳 − ミルク

Could anyone explain? I guess they cannot be used interchangeably, so when to use which?

Are there any more of the like? :)

Thanks a lot.
by Bieres  

. 2008/12/25 18:31
話す − more like to speak
語る more like to tell/recite.
習う − to learn
学ぶ - to study or be taking lessons in something
牛乳 − traditional japanese word for milk, used for the drink itself
ミルク - Used for stuff like "milk tea" to explain foreign treats.
by . rate this post as useful

Milk 2008/12/25 21:05
Bieres,

Just to add that 牛乳 is the white stuff that actually comes from cows, whereas ミルク refers to baby formula or artificial creamer.
by Dave in Saitama rate this post as useful

柔道(judo)や空手(karate)は習うもの 2008/12/25 21:29
話す-英語(えいご English)で話す。
電話(でんわ phone)で話す。
語る-体験(たいけん experience)を語る。
習う-料理(りょうり cooking)やピアノ(piano)を習う。
柔道(じゅうどう judo)を習う。
学ぶ-大学(だいがく college)で医学(いがく medicine)を学ぶ。

ミルク-ミルクチョコレート(milkchocolate)
by kodokan rate this post as useful

benkyo suru 2008/12/26 13:37
Relating to ''learn/study Japanese'', 学ぶ is the most general word, however, both 勉強する and 習う can be used as well.

日本語を勉強する。
study Japanese
(to prepare for exam. intensively)

日本語を習う。learn Japanese(with the help of a tuitor or by listening to a radio program )
by kodokan rate this post as useful

. 2008/12/27 14:03
牛-cow
乳-milk

牛乳literally means cow's milk.
by . rate this post as useful

More questions. 2008/12/28 09:55
Thank you all for your replies.

Since I have opened this thread I'll post more of my questions here and ask for a translation. They are mostly SOS questions I would like to use in class. Thank you for reading.